101_0306.JPG

My grandma made me this pound cake EVERY year for my birthday until she died.  I loved it so much and thankfully I have the recipe.  I have made it many times but i never came out “perfect”.  It would crack or fall apart or something.  Well I made one Sunday night for my friends birthday Monday and it was the most perfect one I’ve made!  I was so happy!  AND, I got a slice Monday and it definitely was my best one so far!  ~bakerista 

Ingredients:

1 heaping cup shortening

2-1/2 cups sugar

3 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 teaspoons lemon

6 eggs

THE HOW TO:

Cream shortening and sugar. Sift flour and dry ingredients three times. Add alternately to first mixture with milk and flavoring. Always begin with dry ingredients and end with it.  Beat well.  Add eggs one at a time. Beat well after each egg.

Bake at 350 degrees.  Place in COLD OVEN.  MAKE SURE YOUR TUBE PAN IS GREASED AND FLOURED VERY WELL!!!  IT STICKS VERY EASILY!  bake 55-60 minutes! 

ENJOY!

